Must Read Fantasy Books?

If you’re looking for a great fantasy book to read, check out our list of must-read fantasy books. From classics to modern day masterpieces, there’s something for everyone on this list.

Checkout this video:

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings is one of the most classic and well-known fantasy stories of all time. It is the perfect example of a high fantasy novel and has inspired countless other authors in the genre. If you are interested in reading fantasy, then this is a must-read.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven fantasy novels by C.S. Lewis. It is considered a classic of children’s literature and is the author’s best-known work, having sold over 100 million copies in 47 languages.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling is one of the most popular fantasy series of all time. The books follow the adventures of young wizard Harry Potter as he attends Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, makes close friends and powerful enemies, and struggles against the evil forces that seek to defeat him and conquer the wizarding world.

The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan

The Wheel of Time is a must-read for fans of epic fantasy. Robert Jordan’s sprawling series tells the story of Rand al’Thor, a young man who must save the world from the Dark One. The series is full of rich characters and detailed world-building, and Jordan’s use of magic and prophecy set it apart from other fantasy series.

The Belgariad by David Eddings

The Belgariad is a five-book fantasy series written by American author David Eddings. The series was first published in hardcover in 1985 and quickly became a success with both critics and readers alike. It tells the story of Belgarion, a young farm boy who must save the world from an evil god. Along the way, he is joined by a group of companions, including the wise old wizard Belgarath, the beautiful princess Ce’Nedra, and the brave warrior Silk. Together, they must overcome impossible odds to save the world from destruction.

The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander

The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander is a classic fantasy series that has delighted readers for generations. Often compared to J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, this five-book series tells the story of young Taran, an adventurer who sets out to save the kingdom of Prydain from the evil Horned King.

Taran is joined on his quest by an eclectic group of characters, including the diminutive yet brave Fflewddur Fflam, the strong and loyal Gurgi, and the beautiful Princess Eilonwy. Together, they must battle fearsome monsters and solve challenging puzzles in order to save Taran’s homeland.

The Chronicles of Prydain is a timeless fantasy adventure that is perfect for both young readers and adults alike. If you’re looking for a classic fantasy series to lose yourself in, look no further than The Chronicles of Prydain.

The Earthsea Cycle by Ursula K. Le Guin

The Earthsea Cycle by Ursula K. Le Guin is a series of five fantasy novels set in the fictional world of Earthsea. It chronicles the adventures of the young wizard Sparrowhawk, as he grows from an apprentice to a powerful sorcerer.

The books have won several awards, including the Nebula Award for Best Novel (for A Wizard of Earthsea) and the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel (for The Farthest Shore). They have been widely praised for their complex characters, intricate plotting, and beautiful prose. The Earthsea Cycle is considered a classic of fantasy literature, and it has inspired many other authors, including J.K. Rowling and Philip Pullman.

The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant by Stephen R. Donaldson

The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant is a series of ten high fantasy novels written by Stephen R. Donaldson and published between 1977 and 2013. The series chronicles the experiences of its protagonist, Thomas Covenant, a leper who is gifted or cursed with “The Power and the Truth” of white gold. The novels follow Covenant’s repeated descent from his world into “The Land”, a parallel world that exists within his own imagination, and his subsequent efforts to protect it from destruction while combating his own self-doubt. Though initially poorly received by critics, the series became one of Donaldson’s most popular works and inspired a number of derivative works.

The Dark Tower by Stephen King

The Dark Tower is a fantasy novel by Stephen King that was first published in 1982. The book tells the story of a young boy named Jake Chambers who discovers a portal to another world called Mid-World. In this world, he meets a gunslinger named Roland Deschain who is on a quest to reach the Dark Tower, a mythical structure that is the center of the universe. Along the way, they are joined by other characters including Jake’s former guardian Susannah Dean and an insect-like creature called Eddie Dean. The group must face many dangers as they travel across Mid-World to reach the Dark Tower.

The Dark Tower has been praised for its imagination, characters, and storytelling. It is one of Stephen King’s most popular novels and has been adapted into a feature film, television series, video game, and comics.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is a dystopian novel that has captivated readers of all ages. The story follows a group of teens who are forced to compete in a brutal, televised battle to the death. Despite its dark subject matter, the book is also full of hope and love, making it an unforgettable read.

Scroll to Top